What's new

Questions about placing surround speakers (1 Viewer)

Cabinetman

Auditioning
Real Name
Kevin Deaton
I am brand new to the world of home theater and I'm not sure the best way to position my surround speakers in a 5.1 system. For a reference here is the equipment I currently have:
TV-Sony KDS-R50XBR1
Receiver- Denon 2807
DVD- Sony DVP-NC85 (planning to upgrade soon)
Front mains- B&W 604 s3
Center channel- B&W LCR 600 s3
Sub- B&W ASW675 (probably should have done more research before buying)
Surround- B&W FP2

I do not have a dedicated theater room so the system is in my family room. This created a problem with placing the surround speakers because there is only one side wall which is mostly windows and the other side of the room opens into the kitchen. When I wired the house for speakers during construction I placed the speaker wire about 8.5' up on the back wall of the room.

Currently I have my speakers mounted at this 8.5' height on the back wall which is about 5 feet behind my main listening position firing straight ahead. With this setup I don't feeling like I am getting the best sound envelope out of the rear speakers. Do you think that angling the speakers down toward the listening area would help? I really don't have the option of moving the speakers to the sides of my listening area (which would require ceiling mounts) unless I am willing to sacrifice some marital bliss. The only other option I can think of is swapping out the speakers for the B&W DS-6 s3 which are bipolar. The shop I bough my speakers from told me that bipolars are not really needed for installations that require the surrounds to be on the back wall, but we all know that salesman are not always the most knowledgeable.

I look forward to any advice you can give me. Sorry for the long winded first post.

Kevin

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Pointing them down will help a lot. As well as setting the levels properly with an SPL meter.

-Robert

JohnRice