Question about 6.1

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeffrey_K, Jan 23, 2003.

  1. Jeffrey_K

    Jeffrey_K Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Yamaha HTR-5560 A/V receiver. I have all 6 speakers set up in the way recommended. The Lord of the Rings DVD that I got for Christmas will not play in the 6.1 format. It says "6.1 ES Surround" in the setup, but the list here:
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...ighlight=dtses

    says it's both ES and EX.

    My questions are: Can EX (matrixed) do ES (discrete)? Do I have somthing set wrong on my receiver? Will I only be able to listen to 5.1? Is the list wrong? What does "ES-Compatible" (as it says on the Yamaha website) mean?
     
  2. BrentPollard

    BrentPollard Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure your DVD player is set to pass a DTS signal. Then when you choose DTS in the LOTR's menu you should get 6.1 discreet if your Yammy does auto sense. You may have to check your receivers setup menu.[​IMG]
     
  3. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5,110
     
  4. Jeffrey_K

    Jeffrey_K Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get no sound when I chose 6.1 in my setup. Could it be my DVD player as suggested? Its that new Sony 615 5 disc one. I will look at the options availble.

    I guess I'm just not getting the whole 6.1 thing! [​IMG]

    Thanks for your responses.
     
  5. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5,110
     
  6. Jeffrey_K

    Jeffrey_K Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I found out what was wrong. While troubleshooting by reading the manual ("When all else fails, read the directions"), I ran across this nice, little blurb:

    "The AUDIO jacks are available for a video component which does not have optical digital output jack. However, multi-channel reproduction cannot be obtained with audio signals input from AUDIO jacks."

    OK. Perhaps this is obvious to some, common sense to others, and validation that careful reading of the manaul is a must to the rest. But it would have been nice if they had made this more obvious. No digital or optical cable came with any of my components.

    Oh, well, live and learn.

    Thanks for all of your help anyways.
     

Share This Page