What's new

projector and screen (1 Viewer)

Dan C

Agent
I am new to home theaters and have questions about my set up and choice of projector. I plan to purchase a sharp 12000 and fix a stewart screen in the wall. I will recess the screen (twice) and put felt over the setbacks. I at first planed on a perforated screen but I was told that the dlp would lose light and thus not give as good a picture. I have been reading that the best place to put the center speaker is behind the screen. Does it really make that much of a difference? The plans I had called for all three speakers to go behind the screen (120 in, should I go smaller?). On the same subject what does everyone think about the sharp 12k? I would appreciate any help or suggestions anyone might have.

Dan C

Agent
Thanks for the help and I read that thread but is it worth it. The stuart screen I plan to purchase is already 2000.00 bucks. How much more can it be? I am going with the new Klipsch Ultra2 system. Should I just put it under the screen?

Dan C

Agent
Also should I run pvc to the projector from the equipment rack. How many cables run to the projector? I would like to box it out leaving the front open, but will I need vent it some how?

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
:) You touched on about 3 or more major and important issues with front projector installation/setup.

First of all, I would not go microperf or weaved sonically transparent screens. Just place the centre speaker under or over the screen and angle as needed...

http://webhome.idirect.com/~orange1/front.jpg