What's new

Power Conditioner for RP - DLP (1 Viewer)

Jesper_B

Auditioning
Real Name
Jesper Benson
I'm new to the HT scene and new to the forum. It rocks BTW!

I just purchased a 56" rear projection DLP and naturally want to protect my investment in HT wonderland!

I live in an area with the occasional power outage. Far more common are "brown outs" - the power doesn't go out, but everything fades and comes back up. I want clean power, so I figured I'd get a power conditioner. So far, none of the ones I have looked at (monster and belkin) seem to have a battery backup built into them.
As a temporary solution I have a best buy APC UPS that the tv plugs in to, but I have a hunch that it isn't going to have enough juice to power the tv long enough for me to run over and turn off the tv so that the fan can cool the lamp down for a proper shutdown.

What does everybody else do? Suggestions/Opinions etc are most welcome!

Chu Gai

Senior HTF Member
If you own your own home, Jesper, you would be well advised to first install what's known as a whole house surge protection system. That way, all incoming lines to your home (AC, phone, data, cable) would first pass through the device(s) before entering your home. This creates a perimeter defence that will not only offer protection for your HT investment, but also anything else in your home that's electronic.

At that point you use secondary means of protection or what I call point-of-use or plug-in devices where desired. In your particular case, you want to address two particular concerns.

1) Protection against electrical anomalies like surges, glitches, noise, etc.
2) Maintaining a constant voltage for a period of time when you experience a brown out.