What's new

Please Help with Connection for Subwoofer (1 Viewer)

Mike_Camden

Auditioning
Hi. This is only my second post on this forum; I'm a home theater newbie, so please forgive my lack of knowledge in the below questions.
My issue is that I need to to know if I can (and if so, how) hook up an RCA 100 watt powered subwoofer that only has speaker wire inputs to a JVC RX-6020VBK DD/DTS receiver with only an RCA output for the subwoofer. The only answer I've received is that I can plug my subwoofer speaker wires into the receiver's speaker wire outputs for the L/R front speakers. If I do this, will I lose bass and/or sound quality? Isn't there anyway to convert the speaker wire from the subwoofer to an RCA input without damaging my equipment?
If anyone is interested in how I ran into a problem like this, I've posted my negative experience with an RCA Home Theater in a Box here.
Thanks for any help,
Mike C.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Mike.

A "traditional" subwoofer/Sat system sends the full-range L/R audio to the sub. The sub then takes what sounds it wants, and passes the rest to some outputs. You run more speaker wires from these to your L/R speakers.

No, you dont loose anything by wireing this way.

Let me explain the 2 levels audio signals in your system:

- RCA Plug: This puts out/takes in what are called "line-level" or un-amplified signals. They cannot drive a speaker or produce sound without going through an amplifier.

- Speaker Connectors (5-way binding posts or clips): These put out/take in AMPLIFIED signals carrying POWER. The energy is enough to drive a motor.

You never want to mix these two.

Something about your post confuses me:

an RCA 100 watt powered subwoofer that only has speaker wire inputs