What's new

Please help me clear things up! (1 Viewer)

Debbie K

Grip
Hello all! I am new to home theater and recently made some purchases which I am now considering returning and exchanging for other items, but would really like some input if you would not mind.... some history....
We recently purchased the Onkyo TX-SR600 receiver and the Onkyo speaker package SKS-HT500. I am absolutely not happy with the lack of clarity and am unsure of what to do next..
My choices...
Return the Onkyo receiver and try either a Denon 1803 or a Yamaha RXV630 to see if this clears things up....
Return the Onkyo speakers and keep the receiver and get different (better) speakers. The speakers I am interested in are the Klipsch due to the clarity in the ones I have listened to so far. Thing is they are MUCH more expensive than what I have now like around 1 speaker for the price of the whole package I have now. :)
We are using quality cables for everything so I do not think that is the problem. A DVD or CD does not sound too bad, but the TV signal sounds horrible, very distorted. Even on a DVD it sounds strange, kinda muffled or like people are talking through a tunnel. Hollow sounding and not natural at all. I just do not know if something like that would be caused by the receiver or the speakers.
Well, any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
thanks, debbie

Camp

Senior HTF Member
My guess is exchanging the speakers would be the most productive route. Generally speaking, companies known for making electronics are not known for making speakers.

Klipsch is a very good brand, however, when it comes to speakers the best advice is to listen to as many as possible before dropping cash. There is a lot out there and you want to be positive you find the best for you.

Darren Mortensen

Stunt Coordinator
Debbie,

First, I bet you shop at Circuit City.

The reciever is a nice unit that should serve you well. Plenty of power and digital options.