What's new

PDA's/Pocket PC 2002 (1 Viewer)

DavidAM

Second Unit
I'm looking at getting a PDA with Pocket PC 2002 to use for work. The problem I'm having is with the memory card slot. They have the new SD memory cards and the PDA I like uses this type of external memory. I also see PDA's with compact flash slots. Is there one better than the other? I'm familiar with CF cards, but don't know much about the SD cards. Does it seem like the future will be SD memory? To make things more difficult, my digital camera uses Smartmedia, so it looks like no matter which PDA I buy, I will not be able to use my current memory cards with it. One plus to getting a PDA for work would be to download my pictures directly to the PDA, but I guess that won't happen unless I buy a new camera too. I can live without doing this though. So, since I'm new to PDA's and their features and things, what should I look for? I like to Toshiba e310. I was interested in the HP Jornada 567/568 back when I first found out I could use these things for work, but it seems that model isn't ranked to well by the reviewers online. If anyone uses these things, let me know what you like and which features you find are useful and which to ignore. Thanks...and Happy Turkey Day.

PatrickM

Screenwriter
David,

The biggest difference between a CF slot and a SD/MMC slot is that you can basically only find memory that will fit into a SD/MMC slot whereas there are many peripheral devices that fit into a CF slot beyond memory like a digital camera, a Wi-Fi 802.11b wireless modem, a bluetooth modem, etc.

I've been looking at them to outfit all of our outside sales people. The Toshiba e310 is great but there's another Toshiba e550 I think it is, that's really awesome. Check compusa. The HP IPAQ's (formerly Compaq IPAQ) are really good. I'm looking at the soon to be released 5450's.

Dell has also released their own version of a PocketPC.

Good luck,

Patrick

AviTevet

Stunt Coordinator