What's new

Opinions on Marantz SR-4000 (1 Viewer)

Rich.Swolf

Auditioning
I'm new to the home theater bug and have decided to upgrade my old Sony STR-D615 Dolby Pro-Logic receiver to something a little more modern that would offer at least Dolby Digital 5.1. My budget unfortunately is entry-level--looking to spend $200 roughly (I already dropped $400 for speakers!). As a result I was looking at the Panasonic SA-HE70 ($170) and SA-HE100 ($250) and similar offerings from Pioneer and Onkyo.

However I stumbled on to an opportunity to pickup the Marantz SR-4000 used for around $150. After searching HTF and reading reviews for this receiver, I began to think that this may be a viable option. Although it doesn't have the latest features of the newer receivers, such as DPL II, it appears to be a cut above in overall quality.

I'm just wondering if anyone could offer comments/opinions on the choice between new vs old in this case. Also, how does the SR-4000 perform as a home theater receiver. My listening is likely to be geared more towards home theater, roughly 60% home theater, 40% music.

I also just purchased the JBL NSP-1's 5-speaker surround system and the Sony SA-WM40 subwoofer to bring my fledgling system to life. Are these speakers a good match for the Marantz SR-4000. Any advice you can offer would be of tremendous value to me. Thanks!

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John