What's new

Newbie: Specs & Measurements (1 Viewer)

FryDog

Auditioning
Real Name
Ben
I'm new to the Home Theater world and am trying to learn more about speakers and subwoofers. I have a nice list of prospective speaker systems to purchase, to which I will include at the end of the post along with the prospective receivers as well.

I see there are several measurements when looking at speakers, but I don't know what they mean or what I should be looking for. Here is a sample of what I'm talking about (this is the AVS x-ls speaker):

# Crossover: 1750Hz, 2nd order
# Frequency Response: 55 Hz to 20 KHz (± 3 dB)
# Impedance: 8 Ohms nominal
# Efficiency: 87 dB (@ 1 watt / 1 meter)

Are larger numbers better?
Are larger ranges in the numbers better?

I just don't know.

If you know of a good place for a newbie like me to go, read and educate myself, please let me know. Hopefully, the resource can explain in simple/newbie terms as to what the measurements mean along with an example.

Speakers
* Klipsch Quintet III
* Polk Audio RM20
* Definitive Technology ProCinema Series
* AV123 X-Series (Center x-cs, Fronts & Backs x-ls)
* HSU Ventriloquist VT-12
Subwoofers
* AVS123 x-sub
* HSU VTF-1
* HSU STF-2
* SVS PB10-NSD
* Klipsch Synergy 10
Receivers
* Harman Kardon AVR-247
* Yamaha RX-V661

SethH

Senior HTF Member
Welcome to the forum!

Crossover -- that crossover measurement on a speaker is the point at which the sound shifts from the woofer to the tweeter. At this point this really probably is not of concern to you at all.

Frequency Response -- This is pretty important. This tells you what frequencies the speaker can reproduce. As some background, a young, healthy person can hear frequencies from approximately 20Hz-20,000Hz. Frequencies below 20Hz can be felt if produced at a high SPL. Most bookshelf type speakers will dig down to between 45Hz and 80Hz just depending on the size and quality of the components used.