What's new

Newbie Here (1 Viewer)

SilverZ06

Auditioning
Real Name
Nathan
Hey all, Im new here and had some questions.

I am in the process of finishing my basement and when trying to decide if a large LCD or a projector is the way to go and I decided on a projector. My electrician is coming out this week to start wiring everything, in terms of outlets and such, and he wants me to work on the theater wiring. I plan on doing a ceiling mounted projector and having a component rack about 15 feet away from the projector set off in a corner. I am unsure on the surround sound I will be purchasing as well as the projector but I was wanting to get some ideas on what wires to run anyway. I was thinking about running two HDMI wires, some 16 guage speaker wire, coax, and possibly some RCA A/V cables. Any thoughts on this? I know I will have my Xbox down there which is HDMI, a Blue Ray, Satelite, and Receiver for surround sound and stereo.

Another question I have is should I run seperate speakers for the receiver when I am using the stereo? The wife and I discussed getting in ceiling speakers, like I have in my garage, for the stereo part of the receiving so we don't use the surround sound for everything. Thoughts?

Sorry about allt he dumb questions. Just trying to learn some.

Thanks in advance.

-Nathan

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
What inputs does your projector have? Run the same wires to match it. There is no need to run speaker wire to the projector.

If you are using the projector, you will need to use the receiver to hear something. Technically, I don't use surround sound for everything. Some shows are broadcast in stereo and a few in mono.

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
If you get an A/V receiver that is capable of upconverting all analog video sources (component, composite, etc.) to output via HDMI, then you can get away with running only a single HDMI cable from the equipment rack to the projector.