What's new

New shielded project posted: Model 3 "Cameo" (1 Viewer)

Dan Wesnor

Second Unit
I've posted a new design I've been working on for a few months off-and-on. This one is a fully shielded design intended for home theater use - i.e., with a subwoofer. It uses the Seas P17RE/TV and 27TDFC/TV drivers in a sealed box. The ~80Hz F3 and second-order roll-off should blend well with a subwoofer using the crossover on most receivers and pre-pro's.

Check my link below.

JoelTW

Stunt Coordinator
Hi, I like those designs... which one is easiest to build?

I am interested in building some small speakers for my room... wondering if you know how they compare to Klipsch Promedia 5.1 satellites which use 3" drivers and .75" tweeters :)

im a newbie to diy.

:b

Dan Wesnor

Second Unit
They are all about the same difficulty to build, although the Model 1 has a very complex crossover, and is easier to screw up. This is the only one that's shielded that I would recommend. The Mini 2-Way is cheaper, and OK for the money, but the Model 2 and Model 3 are worth the difference in price.

If you are just looking to get into DIY and want to keep the cost down, You should think about the low-cost Vifa design from Selah Audio (www.selahaudio.com send Rick an e-mail, I think it's called the RC2) that has gotten rave reviews.

For easy-to-build, Dennis Murphy (www.murphyblaster.com) has the Plop-in-the-Box, which uses an off-the-shelf box and surface-mounted drivers. If you're careful, you should be able to cut the driver holes with a jigsaw.

If you can spend a little more, try my Model 2, which I use personally in one of my systems. (Of course the Model 1 is my main speaker.)

The Model 3 costs the same as the Model 2, but I think you give up just a little bit of sound quality to gain the shielding. The Model 2 uses a newer woofer which has a more advanced motor. The Model 2 is also smaller.