What's new

New HT, speaker help (1 Viewer)

Robert Burchell

Auditioning
Hey, im building up my first HT system and would like a little help choosing some speakers.

I currently own a jvc stereo and i realy like the sound, just doesnt have the volume for me. its the Hx-z3 and it wasnt cheap lol. i cant post urls yet so to give an idea of what is it here some specs

70 watts rms x 2 for mids highs
160 watts x 2 rms for subs

per speaker
8" ported paper cone subwoofer
Dual 5.25" midrange
2" paper cone tweeter

anyways, im looking for some speakers that will get loud and sound good on a budget. im a student so im working with about 300-350 for speakers, if i buy online that has to cover shipping and tax, and i live in canada by the way, so thats canadian funds.

I listen to alot of rock/alternative, and some old rock like zepplin, rush, skynard ect. I like my music to have a soft clear treble, strong midrange, and punchy bass that hits with authority.

My dad has a pair of cerwin vegas, the ones with the 10" woofer, 4" midrange and 1" metalic tweeter and i dont care for them too much, the highs are just to harsh and raspy, and the midrange isnt as present as it seems to be on my current stereo, also the bass just isnt half of what it is on mine.

im gonna be adding a DIY adire audio tempest in the future so the speakers i get now dont need to be too bassy i guess.

anyways, and sudgestions are welcome, i can build them too if that would be cheaper and give me better results, i like DIY projects and have access to all the tools i need, my dads a carpenter and has all the latest and greatest junk.

thanks for any input i get, and sorry for rambling, i just wanna give a good idea of what im looking for so i dont waste all that money on speakers i dont like.