What's new

Need help with Home Theater System... (1 Viewer)

Hell-Razor

Auditioning
Real Name
Justin
Hey fellas,

I get this thrown on me in the very last minute and I am trying very hard to stop my parents from getting screwed. My background is in car audio (mainly infrasonic builds) so I am used to high excursion, huge power builds and this will not be it so I am kind of out of my "specialty"....

Anyway to the point. My parents are building a new house and they want it to be as wire free as possible. The walls are not up so running some wires are ok, but the less the better. To make things worse, they got a quote to wire and buy new equipment at 4500$ plus labor (estimated at 800$ total). I told them not to accept it but they're on a tight deadline and everything needs to be done by Thursday next week. The equipment is not even the top of the line, and he quoted 100ft of 14/2 wire at 275$ (I laughed at that), 2 6ft hdmi cables at 75$ ea and a universal remote for everything at 399$ (the same one can be bought at best buy for 149$).

My parents living room is not very big, its 12ft width, 27ft depth and 9ft tall. It also has a open kitchen attached to it along with a very long hallway entering in the middle. The kitchen is 11ft x 10 ft, if that matters. They dont need a huge system upstairs (living room) but in the basement is where they really want things amped up. The basement is not a lot bigger but I believe a surround sound system would work, its 15ft wide x 30ft depth x 11ft height. They are getting 2 4k tvs but that is all I know for now... I am pretty sure they want a HTSiB, they dont want to have to deal with building enclosures (but speakers that mount inside the wall are a huge, huge plus.

So help, please lol. I have been looking around online but really dont know much about it. Any recommendations would be great.

Martino

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Martin O.

Hell-Razor

Auditioning
Real Name
Justin
Martino said:
Can help with this one: