Need help finding a fuse

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Greg Yeatts, Jul 22, 2003.

  1. Greg Yeatts

    Greg Yeatts Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is a 5mm X 20mm 12A, 250 volt, GDA ceramic fuse. McMaster-Carr and Digikey do not appear to carry this fuse. Anybody know where I can find one?
     
  2. Greg Yeatts

    Greg Yeatts Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brett

    Rat Shack was the first place I went. No luck there. McMaster Carr only carries the GDA 250 volt fuses up to 6.3 amps.
     
  3. DaveKahler

    DaveKahler Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It might be worth calling digikey to see if they can get it.. i see 6A of that type of fuse in their catalog, so i bet they could get 12A if they don't have it.

    Edit: http://fuse.fintix.com/htmls/GDA.html
     
  4. Greg Yeatts

    Greg Yeatts Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dave

    Thanks for the link. I checked as McMaster-Carr, and they won't get it for me. I will try Digikey and see if they can order me some.
     
  5. Greg Yeatts

    Greg Yeatts Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, the biggest GDA (time delay) fuse I have been able to find is 10 amp, 250 volt. This is for an amplifier that makes 1,000 watts at 4 ohms. Would it really hurt anything other than maybe blowing a fuse prematurely every now and then to use a 10 amp fuse instead of a 12 amp fuse?

    Also, I was able to find a GDB (quick blow) fuse that is 12 amps. Would this be a suitable replacement?
     
  6. Rick Guynn

    Rick Guynn Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 1999
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know it's not directly applicable, but I was having a similar problem finding a slo-blo for my preamp. So I replaced it with a fast-blow of the same rating and it has been going strong for several months now.

    Go for the fast blow, the worst that could happen is you blow the fuse. Maybe in the meantime be on the lookout for another source for the slo-blo types...

    RG
     

Share This Page