What's new

My budget projector review (1 Viewer)

Scott.T

Agent
I got my Epson EMP-TW10 on friday (sold in the US as the Home 10). These are my impressions so far. I'm not going to post technical details, they are available elsewhere.

BACKGROUND:

I am a newbie to front projection, this is my first projector, so don't take my review as coming from a guru.
I started out looking at the Infocus X1, but both my wife and I were distracted by rainbows, so I looked at the Epson S1, because my budget was pretty tight. But in the end the lack of an optical zoom on the S1 persuaded me to spend a little more.
All my viewing so far has been of Zone 4 PAL DVD's, so I can't comment on NTSC. My DVD payer doesn't do progressive, so it just a standard interlaced source.
The Hifi shop I purchased the projector from was out of component video cables in the length I need, so they have loaned me an S-video cable to use untill the component cable arrives this week.

SETUP:

I have set the projector up in our relatively small lounge, which is about 4 meters deep. One of the major problems is that the room has windows on all 3 walls (the 4th side of the room joins to th open plan dining room). So my only real option was to use a pull down screen in front of the curtains, and mount the projector on the ceiling or wall above the seats.
I bought a Dalite 100" diagonal (4:3) matt white screen which I have hung from the ceiling in front of the ranch slider. That was easy enough, or would have been if I didn't read the tape measure incorrectly. Now I have 2 more holes than I need in the ceiling!