What's new

Looking for a Projector For Outdoor Viewing (1 Viewer)

Jimmy Moceri

Auditioning
Hello,

I'm extremely new to Projectors and was wondering if it would be feasible to purchase an efficient projector to use with something like this: http://www.target.com/p/inflatable-deluxe-widescreen-movie-screen-12/-/A-10806714#prodSlot=_1_1

I also have a wall outlet (I think 115V) in my car so it really could be done anywhere. Ideally, a projector that works with my phone via USB would be ideal as I'm subscribed to some movie services etc., and of course DVD's.

Price Range: Probably would use this setup 2-5 times a year, so it doesn't need to be pricey, just needs to be effective.

Thanks for all help and suggestions!

jwh92020

Grip
Real Name
John Hiser
You want a projector with at least 2000 lumens, 2500 would be better. This will give you a brighter image on the big screen and help offset whatever light you can't control. While a 720p projector is true HiDef, there are a lot of people using SVGA (800 x 600) and XGA (1024 x768) projectors and having great experiences. Outdoor movies are not about the highest picture quality you can get, they are about the experience. Having said that, I use an Optoma HD66 (2500 lumens, 4000:1 contrast, 720p) on an 11 ft screen and the picture is very good. I picked up this projector for $300 used on craigslist and I've been very happy with it. I just picked up a Panasonic PT-F300U, which is a commercial projector. It is XGA, 4000 lumens with a 600:1 contrast ratio. I got it to use on the full moon nights when my yard is very bright. Whatever you get, be sure you have a HDMI or a DVI input.

The screen you're looking at is a great screen. Remember that the blowers on it run constantly, so that is something to think about if you are wanting to run your equipment from you vehicle. Here is a link to some non powered screens to take a look at.