What's new

Kenwood HTB-504 or JBL NSP? (1 Viewer)

Amy Tippin

Auditioning
Hi. I know that Kenwood package includes the receiver+speakers and JBL=only speakers, but do you recommend buying the Kenwood package or JBL NSP1 speakers and additional (separate) receiver?

I'm a rookie, just starting out HT etc..

Thanks!!

Thomas_Berg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Thomas
the 'separates' route is going to be better off all around IMO. you'll get better sound and 'upgradability' out of buying the NSP plus a sub and receiver. look at the Sony SA-WM40 locally or at www.etronics.com for your sub and possibly the new Onkyo 500 or 600 for a receiver. how much do you have to spend? or are you looking for a package (with the NSP) that will rival the price of the Kenwood HTB?

Chris Tsutsui

Screenwriter
I've heard the NSP1s and they are pretty impressive for a low price HT in a box.
I would go for the JBLs because of personal preference. I really love JBLs Studio S38s.
You can listen to the JBLs at Best Buy if there's one near.
If you're looking to save money, a box solution can save you a lot of money and trouble.
http://www.crutchfield.com has great customer service and info.

steve nn

Senior HTF Member