What's new

JBL and OneCall.com (1 Viewer)

David Blair

Stunt Coordinator
First let me say that I'm new to everything in the home theater world.

This afternoon I was checking out onecall's speaker section and noticed that they have their JBL N20's on sale for $98. I was thinking about using them in a 2 channel setup until I decide to get a center and surrounds.

I went to Best Buy tonight to listen to them, they sounded good with a Yamaha reciever. What would be a good receiver to drive them? What I'm considering are Denon 484, Onkyo 501 and Yamaha 5560, trying to keep my budget

Brad_See

Stunt Coordinator
Another one to consider is the Denon AVR-1403. www.dakmart.com is an authorized refurbished dealer and they have them with a 1 year warranty for $205.

Did you mean to say the JBL E20's? I didn't see any N20's. That's a good price they currently have the E20's for. I thought the E30's sounded much better than the E20's but the E20's will probably be ok if you combine them with a decent subwoofer.

As far as what features you'll need in the receiver - you'll need to consider how many and what kind of inputs you need, how much power you need (how big is your listening room btw?) and if you're shooting for 5.1, 6.1, 7.1 and if the receiver has the typical surround decoding formats integrated...which most surround receivers will.

brad cook

David Blair

Stunt Coordinator
You're correct, it's the E20's. The room size/listening area is roughly 14x18, if I take into consideration the open floor plan then it's closer to 14x30.

My plans are to eventually have a 5.1 setup, adding an EC25 or EC35. I was also considering using the E20's as fronts until I get E30's,the E20's would then be used as surrounds.