Is there a switchbox for component cables?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Roger P, Apr 9, 2002.

  1. Roger P

    Roger P Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm planning to get Sony WEGA flatscreen TV, but I notice that it only comes with one component input in the back. Is there a switchbox available that allows me to connect multiple devices?
     
  2. James Bergeron

    James Bergeron Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well you could use a receiver, or you could buy one of those audio/video switchest ehy apparently work great. The manual ones not digital as those would degrade the signal.

    I believe keydigital makes one as well.
     
  3. Dave Schofield

    Dave Schofield Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1999
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Roger, I'm looking for the same kind of device. I know they make them, but I just can't find them anywhere. I've checked Sound City and Parts Express (two places that usually have everything)
     
  4. BrianFS

    BrianFS Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    This one is inexpensive, but I don't know if it's any good.
     
  5. RichN

    RichN Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crutchfield.com has one (JVC JX-S111) for about $100.00 that has three component inputs, one S-Video and one composite (plus a front input for camcorder etc). Same one that Brian mentioned above, only his price is cheaper than Crutchfield. They also have one for about $500.00.

    RichN
     
  6. Scooter

    Scooter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1998
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    DFW Area Texas
    Real Name:
    Scooter
    I use a Radio Shack 4 into 1 analog switcher for 4 devices:

    HDTV MPEG2 Receiver

    DISH Network HDTV

    Gamecube/PS2

    DVD

    Works like a champ, cost less than 20 bucks on sale.
     
  7. Dave Schofield

    Dave Schofield Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1999
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scooter, is that just a A/V selector (red/white/yello) that you've plugged components into? Do you have any signal loss? I'm thinking that might be an option, but I was worried about signal loss.
     
  8. Roger P

    Roger P Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys! I'll go try it out.
     
  9. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
    Signal loss isn't that big an issue with RPTVs since the sets can't display the full HD bandwidth anyway. If you are really concerned about this then get an Extron or other pro-video switcher.
     
  10. Dave Schofield

    Dave Schofield Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1999
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greg, theres a difference between getting a unit that is rated for component video (instead of one that is rated for composite) and a professional unit that is $500...

    What "ohm" is standard Component cable? For instance you'll get signal loss using something less than 75 ohm video cable on Digital Coax runs.
     
  11. Dave Schofield

    Dave Schofield Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1999
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  13. Dave Schofield

    Dave Schofield Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1999
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. Dave Schofield

    Dave Schofield Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1999
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bob, I think you meant markertek
     
  15. Scooter

    Scooter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1998
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    DFW Area Texas
    Real Name:
    Scooter
    Dave...yes that is the exact piece I have and it works JUST fine! So for the delay in responding.

    As for the other unit you show..the JVC piece.. I can only say EVERY JVC piece of gear I have ever owned was garbage. Maybe it was just my luck! Notice that the switcher they show there has no apparent provision for switching digital audio either via coax or toslink.

    As for the Radio Shack piece..keep your eye for a sale.
     

Share This Page