What's new

is an HDTV overkill for me? (1 Viewer)

Keith_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Kyle
Hey all, I'm interested in purchasing a new television for myself and am wrestling with the HD or analog choice.

The situation is that I'm currently a college student still living back home, therefore this television will be going in my bedroom. At the present time I have all my gear out in our main family room hooked up to our smallish analog screen, and have no intentions of moving my gear into my room because I already have a 2 channel set up in there and don't really need the surround. What I would like to do is get a television in my bedroom that is bigger than the living room screen ( I have eyesight problems) and that I can use to view shows or DVD's that only I want to see. I was thinking I will probably buy a TiVo (or similar DVR) and a DVD player to accompany this television, I may also take out my X-Box again and hook it up to this screen. The Tv will be a CRT one in the range of 26-30. I will probably be keeping this television for the longterm as well.

For the forseeable future I don't see my family upgrading our cable to digital because we are just standard cable kind of people;), nor do I see myself getting HD cable in my room because the lineup is really not all that great. My new television will primarily be used for 4:3 SD cable (though I do have a couple shows which are widescreen) with some DVD watching and the occasional X-Box game. I'd break down my viewing habits as: 20% X-Box,40% DVD, and 40% Tv.