What accessories would I need? This is what I am looking at:

Speaker wire- 12, 14, or 16 gage?
HDMI Cable(s)- do I need 1 or 2?
Subwoofer Cable
Component Cable?
Optical Cable?
SPL Meter
AVIA Calibration Disc

I am new to HT so I apologize for the novice questions.
Is there anything else that I need? I am also looking for a receiver, but I will post this in that area. Thanks in advance for your help

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Much of what you will need depends on the receiver you end up with (HDMI switcher, up-converter or none at all) and how you will use the system (avr on all the time, watch tv with avr off, etc.) As for speaker wire, go with 12 g. It's not that much more than 14-16 and it last forever so get the right stuff the first time. Many new receivers have auto speaker setups, but my experience with a few of them has been less than satisfactory so I say get the setup disc and spl meter. That way you will know it's right. You can usually run the eq room correction part of the auto setup separately if you choose to use it. And a good quality but in-expensive sub cable from AR or monoprice.com (they also have 100' of 12g wire for >$30) and a good surge protector. Maybe some little rubber feet to put under those Ascends. After you settle on an avr, the video experts here can help with the rest.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Tony. Welcome to HTF!

You seem to have thought of everything (the SPL meter and AVIA are things most people dont know about).

I agree with getting a spool of 12 ga wire.

I suspect you will need 3 HDMI cables. One from each device straight to the TV, and one from the TV to the receiver for more serious movie watching.