What's new

How to best utilize my NHT 2.5i system (1 Viewer)

midnight_2

Auditioning
Real Name
Andy
Hi there,

I am a total home audio noob, and here is my situation. I would appreciate any input or advice.

I purchased the following like 5-7 years ago:

NHT 2.5i (main speakers)
NHT SW2Si (10" subwoofer)
NHT SA-2 (subwoofer amp)
Denon receiver. Forgot mondel #, but it was a mid range one at ~$800.

Now i have the speakers powered by the Denon and the sub powered by the SA-2. I recently read that the 2.5is need good clean power, and i assume that my Denon would not be considered good clean power. Is this accurate?

Would i notice a big difference if i got a real amp to power the speakers? They are bi-amplification capable, so would adding say another SA-2 for the subwoofers of the main speakers(while keeping the Denon powering the mid and tweeters) help? I am going to assume that yes there would be SOME benefit, but just not sure how much(or if it would be worthwhile to put money into it at this point).

I am at the point now where if i have to spend more money to get more out of my system i can, but i have no idea where to start to figure that out.

I know price is always a consideration, so i am thinking that i can spend up to $1k on adding to this system, ie another SA-2 amp, a seperate 'main' amp, etc.

Also, is the age of the speakers something to consider here? Do speakers wear down after a point? I would say that they have been used on average for maybe an hour a week for their lifetime. So is it even worth it to try to get the most out of them if they might be wearing out?

Thanks in advance for any input.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The Denon receiver should be just fine for powering the speakers, but before asking, you might just take 10 seconds, look at the front of the receiver, and let us know what it is.