What's new

How RELIABLE is the Philips PRONTO TSU2000? (1 Viewer)

Kyle_Y

Stunt Coordinator
Due to the suggestions of the other HTFers I've decided to step up to the Protno TSU2000. There is only one thing I want to know, since I will be paying about $300 for it, how reliable is it? I have read several reviews of the TSU2000 with enraged owners saying their remotes kept rebooting or were completely out of service after a couple of months. I don't want to spend that kind of money on a remote that will only last for a few months, I'm looking for a few years with no problems. I will be buying the docking station FYI. I reliaze that if I drop the unit it won't last long, but if I take care of it, will I be affected by the rebooting problem or any other softwear problems that many users have reported?

John Sully

Stunt Coordinator
I've been using a TSU1000 since 1998 and have had no problems with it. Apparently it is possible to corrupt the firmware when downloading a CCF file from ProntoEdit, but the common solution here is to download the firmware again and then reload your CCF. This is a known solution to the hang/reboot problem.

Yohan Pamudji

Supporting Actor
I've been using my Marantz RC-5000 (same as Pronto 1000) for over 2 years now, never a hang. I've updated firmware once or twice and updated my configuration over 20 times, and I've never had a problem. I'm very pleased with it.

Dave_P.

Supporting Actor
I've had the Yamaha RAV2000 (their proprietary version of the Pronto) for almost a year now with no problems at all, even with heavy usage and re-programming.

Guy Kuo

Supporting Actor