What's new

Home theater feedback (2 Viewers)

BobbyS

Grip
Well here i go, first time i post here.

I had the idea of buying a home theater for a couple months, and i've been reading the primer section and some posts for a couple weeks.

It's my first time buying a home theater, ive got to know a bit about HDTVs, but im clueless as for audio.

I already got some products wich i think would be the best buy for me, but now i need some feedback to know if there any good.

For the TV im looking to buy the samsung HLM617W DLP projection tv

samsung.com/Products/TV/ProjectionTV/TV_ProjectionTV_HLM617W.htm
(huh i cant post urls yet, if u wanna see jus add the w w w)

I choose DLP over RPTV because i think these rear projection are too much trouble for calibration. What ive read is that DLPs are easier and also have a greater lifetime.

Im in canada, and they have a combo, that samsung DLP + a DVD player with DVI output, cable included. I dont have the exact model of the dvd player, but it seemed like a good package.

For the receiver ive been looking for nothing too expensive, the TX-SR600 from Onkyo seemed nice for the price.

As for the speakers themselves, there im a bit clueless. I want a 5.1 system. I already have a boston acoustics center wich is like 5-6 years ago wich my father gave me. So what i need is 2 front, 2 rears and a Sub.

Im gonna use the system for watching dvds, satellite tv, and xbox. A little bit of music but thats not the main purpose.

Well thats it, id like you guys to give me feedback on what i choose, and if there not good suggest me some other products that i could find in canada.

Tim K

Second Unit
I can't comment on the rest of your equipment, but I'd be glad to talk speakers.

As for the speakers themselves, there im a bit clueless. I want a 5.1 system. I already have a boston acoustics center wich is like 5-6 years ago wich my father gave me. So what i need is 2 front, 2 rears and a Sub.