What's new

Help with new RPTV (1 Viewer)

StevenB

Agent
Here is what I was originally going to post before browsing through many hundreds of threads on this RPTV subject:
"Hello,
I am new to this part of the forum, so any help and/or criticism is much appreciated. I am in the market for a new TV to complete my Home Theatre. I am looking for a 16:9 set in the 55-73" range (60-65" ideally). HDTV compatabiliy preferred, not for HDTV programming, but moreso for my progressive scan DVD player. 9" guns, they seem clearer. Anything under $5500 is preferred. Now the technical stuff:
I have a very capable audio system for the home theater, so can I save money with any model lacking speakers? I see most of these large sets come with speakers just as large as the screen itself. I don't need them.
I hear that some models, while viewing a digital sports feed for example, "break up" the picture. Any models to stay away from?
I know these questions are asked 10 times a day, but when I looked for info, I had trouble narrowing anything down. Any advice from owners with anything remotely close to what I am looking for?
Sincerely,
Steve Burtson "
Now after seeing all the bugs that these large TV's have, I think I am going to stick with my little 27" WEGA. If someone can truly convince me that spending $3000-$5500 on a TV that is going to need repair after a year is worth it, all the glory to you!! I cannot at this time see spending that much money on something that is not going to last me at least 5-10 years and that I don't need to spend much dollars on an ISF every 6 months or so. Please do me some convincing, or to steal a line from the old crone in Monty Python's Holy Grail, "DO YOUR WORST!" :) Have a good one.
Sincerely,
Steve Burtson

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
that I don't need to spend much dollars on an ISF every 6 months or so