What's new

Help! Wega or Samsung Dynaflat HDTV? (1 Viewer)

Brendan B

Grip
Hi all,
Before I start, let me just say I am a newbie, so please bare with me :)
I'm planning on getting a TV for my dorm room and recently I've been interested in getting a 27" KV-27FS13 Wega ($600). However, when I went to look at the TV at best buy, I came across the Samsung 27" Dynaflat HDTV TSL2793HF ($900)
Is paying $300 more justifiable for HDTV? Or is the Wega the best bang for the buck in this scenario? Does anyone have any experience with the Samsung? I will be using my Playstation 2 as a temporary DVD player using component outputs. Any input will be appreciated. Thanks!

Bill Will

Screenwriter
You might want to try www.hometheaterspot.com and look under Samsung for info on the Samsung set. I don't know what the difference is between the Samsung TSL2793HF & the TSL2795HF but I would find out. Pretty sure Home Theater Spot has something about both sets. Hope this helps you out.

Hi,
I was in the same situation, except I had to choose between a Sony 32FS13 and a Samsung TSL3293HF.
I bought the Samsung and I am very happy with it. You can search "Samsung" in this forum and you will find some of my post explaining why I choose the Samsung over sony.
Just to recap ;)
-Samsung accept a progressive signal, Sony doesn't;
-Both can do vertical compression for anamorphic DVD, but with the Samsung, it's a press of a button on the remote while sony requires to go in the menu (less convenient);
-The Samsung is HDTV ready, meaning it will not be obsolete as fast as Sony regular set.
-The Samsung has a 3D comb filter, Sony has only a 3lines comb filter.
And as for picture quality, both were quite satisfaying at the store but I think the Samsung looked a little bit better.
As for the differences between Samsung TSL32XXHF are:
TSL3293 is a strip down model, no PIP, no big sound system, but the important stuff (tube, image, processing) is identical as the TSL3295.