HDTV Antenna?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ScottSchrader, Mar 14, 2003.

  1. ScottSchrader

    ScottSchrader Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Was wondering if anyone was using a HDTV antenna? I have a old antenna on my house, back when I didnt have cable for a summer. The channels it got were clear as cable, on my old 27". I now have a 57" Sony HDTV. Would this work for my TV? I currently have digital cable, I also get 3 channels of HDTV from the same box. But I would like to try and get my local channels to look better. Any advice? Where would I hook the antenna up to, right to the TV?

    Thanks!

    Scott
     
  2. GaryP

    GaryP Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Scott,
    First things first, you're going to need a UHF antenna. Depending on where your stations are transmitting from in relation to your house you can choose an antenna accordingly. Try AntennaWeb to help you in the selction of the right antenna. A nice indoor solution is the Silver Sensor, anything in regards to an outdoor antenna is better left into the hands of someone other than me [​IMG].

    As far as your TV goes, does it have a built in HD tuner, or is it just HD-ready? If it's the former, you should have a coax input where you would connect the antenna. If it's the latter, you'd have to connect it to your STB, in which case, I'm not sure cable boxes will decode OTA signals, I know satellite receivers do, but not positive on cable boxes.

    Gary
     
  3. DennisFawcett

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG] I LIVE JUST ON THE FRINGE OF MADISON WI AND I HAD A HARD TIME GETTING HD STATIONS IN.I TRYED ALOT OF ANTENNAS AND
    GOT A ZENITH SILVER AT BEST BUY.ITS SMALL AND WORKS GREAT.
     
  4. Hanson

    Hanson Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    4,882
    Likes Received:
    286
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Hanson
    Another vote for the Silver Sensor. The Radio Shack VHF/UHF antenna I bought was practically worthless and the double bow-tie didn't do anything (at least it only cost me $1).

    The SS pulled in the 2 HD channels I get without needing to play around excessively with placement.

    Of course, I'm 12 miles from NYC, so YMMV when it comes to indoor antennas.
     
  5. ScottSchrader

    ScottSchrader Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. GaryP

    GaryP Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Scott,
    Your TV's model number would help out a bit. Are you certain it has an integrated tuner? A coax antenna input doesn't necessarily denote an HD input. That being said, I'm inclined to believe the antenna you have would receive the UHF band, which would work.

    Gary
     
  7. ScottSchrader

    ScottSchrader Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, its a sony KP-57WS500. Not sure about the tuner (newbie here)

    Thanks

    Scott
     
  8. Justin Hargis

    Justin Hargis Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The KP57WS500 has an NTSC tuner, not an ATSC tuner. The ATSC tuner will allow you to pick up OTA HDTV channels in your area. So, in order to pick up these OTA HDTV channels, you'll need the help of an external ATSC tuner.

    By the way, most HDTVs don't have the ATSC tuners built in, just a handful of higher end models will.

    You have a nice TV! [​IMG]
    Can't wait till I get one.
     

Share This Page