What's new

hdmi cables/speaker wire (1 Viewer)

jimDi

Auditioning
Iam confused.

Iam purchasing the Yamaha RX-V2600 receiver
With the Mitsubishi HC3000 FP...

Iam looking for HDMI wire and speaker wire.
I am new to this and have search the web for hours.
I need a 25 foot HDMI..the prices range from $80 to $500 for the same length..How do I know whats a good cable?..
Same thing for speaker wire..Its seems everybody says stay away from Monster cable...I read that cat5 wire can be used and it wooks great..Is that true cause I can get it for 18cents a foot at my Home Depot?

Thanks in advance, Jim

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
HDMI is a digital format, so it isn’t too picky about the cable. The prices on them is flat-out ridiculous, so get the cheapest one you can find, as long as the construction quality is good.

For speaker wires, use 12 or 14 gauge. I’m sure you’ll be happy with the stuff they sell at your local big box hardware store. If not, try Parts Express.

My all time favorite is the 12 ga. Megacable that Radio Shack used to sell. I’ve heard that Monster made it for Radio Shack. Finely stranded, really supple jacket, so it laid out on the floor all nice and pretty and flat. The big red ID stripe on one lead was a big plus, too. RS used to sell it for $1.00 a foot – a bit high, but not outrageous – actually worth it for the quality of the cable.

Unfortunately RS doesn’t sell it any more, but a Google search found this site selling 25 ft. spools of the stuff for dirt cheap. Never heard of the vendor, so I can’t vouch for them. They appear to be a surplus dealer, so I imagine when it’s gone, it’s gone.

http://www.mylife4christ.com/ProductInfo.aspx?id=703997

For any speaker wire you might run in-wall, you’ll need to get some that’s CL2 or CL3 rated.