What's new

Has Anyone Tried the Radio Shack Fusion Series Interconnects? (1 Viewer)

Dalton

Screenwriter
Real Name
Dalton
Has anyone tried these cables? They are supposed to be a good improvement over the gold series cables. They are priced pretty good and look to have as good or better construction than Monster cables. I was looking at picking up 2 sets of A/V cables to replace my gold series for DVD-A/SACD. Also can I use the yellow composite video cable to pass audio signals instead (from DVD players analog audio outs to multi-ins on my receiver)?

Thanks,
Dalton

ChadLB

Screenwriter
Those look a little pricey....maybe not though. Have you looked into Acoustic Research. I know you still can get some cables from accessories4less at a good price.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
I used to work as a pro-audio installer, where custom terminations are the norm. Consequently I’ve dissected and analyzed dozens of different types and brands of cables.

Having said that, the Fusions look like top-flight cables, judging from the pics at Radio Shack’s web site. The double shielding and dual twisted pairs represent high-end construction for even pro applications.

However, anyone with a soldering iron and a spool of Canare star-quad cable could make functionally identical cables for a fraction of RS’s asking price. Audio cables, at least.

In my mind they blew it with the in-line filters. The construction of the cables – the aforementioned double shielding and twisted pairs - are more than adequate to reject any RF or EMI, so the filter is redundant. Personally I wouldn’t want that filter in the signal path.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Dalton

Screenwriter
Real Name
Dalton
Thanks Wayne. I know RS has a decent return policy on cables so i might give them a try.

Chad,