Harmon Kardon AVR110 or 210

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tan_U, Oct 3, 2001.

  1. Tan_U

    Tan_U Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    There basically the same except that the 210 has this feature where you can set all the speakers to the same level, sorry I don't know what it's called. The guy said that the AVR210 remote has a microphone in so it can set all the speakers at the same level, wheres the 110 you would have to do it buy hearing it yourself. Is this feature really usefull, does it make a big difference? Also the 210 has pre amp output, but I think it has enough power as is.
    So should I spend $100 more for those features?
     
  2. Scott Pagac

    Scott Pagac Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am looking at the H/K receivers myself (the 320 in particular) and I looked into some reviews. Some have stated the EZ Set feature (built into the remote to help set the levels) does not work as well as using an SPL with a setup disc (such as Video Essentials).
    The pre-amp outs are nice if you plan on going with a larger multi-channel amplifier (or monoblocks) later.
    Also, those models will be replaced soon by the 120 and 220, respectively and include DPL II. OneCall has more info on these models. If you do not need what these offer, you may be able to get the 110 or 210 for a bit of a discount.
     
  3. Tan_U

    Tan_U Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the quick reply, I think i'll stick with the 110 since I can get the EZ set feature later from radio shack.
     
  4. Rob Robinson

    Rob Robinson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    i LOVE my 110, but I am kinda bummed about the lack of pre-outs.
    Just means i'm going to have to throw the whole damn thing away sooner than I would like.
    the 210 remote seems kinda gimmicky, but pre-outs...
     
  5. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 210/220 also has an on-screen display. The 210 has 6ch inputs and pre-amp outputs, but the 220 only has 6ch inputs.
    ------------------
    John Golitsis
    Next Big Thing Electronics
     
  6. Jeff Savage

    Jeff Savage Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a HK 510 wihcih I really love. The difference between the EZSet feature and my VE disc plus RS SPL meter was only a couple of dB.
    You cannot really use the EZSet feature to set the woofer level thou. There is a method but it is certainly not as accurate as the VE disc and SPL meter.
    I would spend the extra money to get pre-outs but not necessarily for the EZSet feature. Having the pre-out will let you upgrade to a more powerful amp in the future.
    Jeff
     
  7. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    1
    A Letter from H/K:
     
  9. Scott Pagac

    Scott Pagac Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK...Here is a question for H/K owners. As posted above, I am also looking into the 320. It will have Logic 7 as well as DPL II. What is the difference between the two? Is one sonically better than the other for cetain applications? Is DPL II being included just because it is the "latest thing" or does it do things Logic & does not? I am planning on using a 7.1 setup in the future. Would one be preferred over the other in that sense for stereo sources?
    Any input woud be appreciated.
     

Share This Page