Harman Kardon AVR510 question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tony Genovese, Aug 12, 2001.

  1. Tony Genovese

    Tony Genovese Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When watching DVDs, is it possible to utilize Logic 7 for DVD's that are NOT 5.1? (I know it's impossible with those that are 5.1). I just picked one of these up (from Circuit City, fortunately, so I've got 30 days to work this out) and when I watch movies that are 2 channel using the digital connection, the status light indicates Dolby Digital with Pro Logic processing. There seems to be no way to use Logic 7. If I use an analog connection, I can get Logic 7 processing. For CD's, Logic 7 music does work with a digital connection. Thanks for the help.
     
  2. Tony Genovese

    Tony Genovese Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone?
     
  3. chris larralde

    chris larralde Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2001
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In order for Logic 7 to work with the AVR 510 you need to switch from bitstream to PCM on your DVD player. I use it instead of Dolby ProLogic
    Chris
     
  4. Tony Genovese

    Tony Genovese Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, Chris. So I would need to switch for each DVD?
    Tony
     
  5. Jerome Grate

    Jerome Grate Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 23, 1999
    Messages:
    2,984
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    110
    As Chris said you do need to change your player to send the PCM bitsream that allows you to access the DSPs like Logic 7 etc. You shoud also remember you need to switch the player back to DD for 5.1 material or it will default to Pro-Logic every time.
    ------------------
    If loving Home Theater is
    wrong, I don't want to be
    right!!!
     
  6. Tony Genovese

    Tony Genovese Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jerome:
    Wouldn't it default to Logic 7 instead of ProLogic? On my Lexicon DC-2, they recommend you use Logic 7 for all sources. Wouldn't this be the same for the AVR510? My impression is that Logic 7 is even better than Dolby Digital. By keeping it on Bitstream, I would get Logic 7 processing for all dvd's?
     
  7. henning hoffmann

    henning hoffmann Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 4, 1999
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In the HK receivers, Logic7 only works on two channel sources. (It's not the full implementation of Logic7.) Use it instead of ProLogic. If you're listening to a DVD that has a DD or DTS 5.1 track available, then use that instead of Logic7. Come to think of it, I don't even think the receiver will let you choose Logic7 on a 5.1 source.
    Henning
    PS Even the upcoming AVR8000 only applies Logic7 to two channel sources, but you have the additional option of deriving 5 or 7 channels.
     
  8. Tony Genovese

    Tony Genovese Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "In the HK receivers, Logic7 only works on two channel sources. (It's not the full implementation of Logic7.) Use it instead of ProLogic. If you're listening to a DVD that has a DD or DTS 5.1 track available, then use that instead of Logic7. Come to think of it, I don't even think the receiver will let you choose Logic7 on a 5.1 source."
    My question relates to TWO channel DVD's. They default to Dolby Digital with ProLogic processing. I want it to default to Logic 7 processing as this is infinitely superior to ProLogic IMHO. I have been told this is possible by switching to the bitstream output of my DVD player. I will try this out this evening.
     

Share This Page