What's new
World Wide Stereo

fishing speaker wire questions (1 Viewer)

DerekBH

Auditioning
I am pretty new to the whole constructing a home theater thing.i know all the basics of hooking a system up but my question is more on the "construction side". I was wondering how to fish wire through the walls and around corners especially.this seems tough for me to imagine how to do it considering there would be studs in the way and how to angle it around the corner.i know what i said is kinda confusing but if anyone could kinda map out how it is done i would greatly appreciate it.thanks.

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Barry Ford

Grip
Derek,

It is almost impossible to run wire through existing construction without cutting holes in the wallboard and drilling through every single stud. Since they're only 16" apart, that's a lot of holes and patching.

I believe the easiest way is to hide the wiring under crown molding along the ceiling. With this technique, you still have to fish the wire vertically from the ceiling (under the crown molding) to the outlet, but if done carefully, the crown molding will cover the top hole, and you can cover the lower hole with a cheap (39 cent) blank wall plate. (Drill a small hole for the speaker wire.) No wallboard patching!!!

Fishing a wire vertically is fairly easy since rarely will there be cross beams between the studs. Just tie the wire to a chain or string with metal, drop it through the top hole and catch it with a magnet or hook at the bottom hole. Then pull the wire with the string. There are a couple of companies that build plastic, paintable crown molding just for this purpose. It has a removeable cover and doesn't need to be mitre cut.