What's new

First DIY sub (1 Viewer)

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
Hi,
I am curious as to wether I can build a sub for $500 (MAX) that will significantly outperfrom my existing Klipsch KSW-12 (good with HT but slow and overbearing with music. My room is 12 x 15). And also I would like to hear what 25 Hz sounds like
wink.gif

Would I be better of spending $500 of the HSU VTF-2? Would a $500 DIY sub outperform THAT ONE?
As you can see, I am new to all this :). But I am 4th year EE student so I think I can handle the electronics part. By the way, my price range would have to include an amplifier
frown.gif

Any ideas?
TIA
--
Holadem

Julian Data

Second Unit
What amp/power do you plan to use?
but yes, to your question as DIY subs depending on the config.. will beat majority of commercial subwoofers out there and I am talking in excess of 1G or higher.. Heck, if you do the big boy DIY subs.. start 5G and up
Julian

Paul Ward

Auditioning
Yes, I know that you can build a killer sub for under 500 bucks, because I did it!
You can build one for even less if you dont use PR's. A sonosub with either a a shiva, tempest, Titan, Stryke should be an improvement over your Klipsch.
I'm driving my sub with an older Carver TFM-35 bridged to 700 watts that I bought for 300 dollars or you can buy a dedicated amp built just for subs.
Long story short go for it!!!
Paul
My sub construvtion page
http://www.fastlane.net/~bakersur/tempest.shtml

Bill Read

Auditioning
To follow in the footsteps of Holadem,
I understand great performance can be had when building a DIY sonosub, but how will it compare to the fabled SVS?
In other words, would I be better off to build a tempest driven sonosub or purchase a prefab SVS subwoofer. Overkill does not exist in my world, I would rather have too much than not enough. With that said.
The wife is grudgingly buying into a 24" in sonosub at ~6' tall. Can I spec this type of water heater to have the potential to outperform the fabled 16-46CS?