Enhanced black level?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeffrey J, Jan 17, 2002.

  1. Jeffrey J

    Jeffrey J Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the Panasonic RP56 or RP91 have a enhanced black level setting like the Toshiba players do?

    Also, if your display has a built in line doubler and you hook up your progressive scan player to it, does the signal bypass the displays doubler?

    Thanks all!
     
  2. WilliamB

    WilliamB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 4, 2000
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tha Panny RP56 has a black level menu selection with Lighter and Darker as the two seletions. Made a difference on mine when set to darker. Factory default is lighter (at least mine shipped that way)
     
  3. Larry Geller

    Larry Geller Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Now the Toshibas don't have enhanced black level either! I just got an SD-5700 & it's nowhere to be found!! Does anybody know why Toshiba eliminated it?[​IMG]
     
  4. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No Larry I don't, but I'd love to know myself! My Sencore pattern generator automatically goes to 0 IRE black level when you're generating a 480p or higher output (as it should). So, when calibrating a set when I know the customer has or is buying one of these new Toshiba's, I have to hook up a DVD player and use AVIA or VE to set black level. It's a pain!
     

Share This Page