DVI cable

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Daniel T., Jun 30, 2003.

  1. Daniel T.

    Daniel T. Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just called all the local audio/video places around here and apparently a DVI cable is a rare beast, at least one long enough for my needs.

    I need a 5 meter or so. I got the new T2 "Extreme" dvd, and wanna play with the high-def outputs. My vid card is fully capable, and my sound card has TOS links, and I have a optic cable thats plenty long. Mainly I just wanna see how the enhanched resolution looks on my DLP set(few Unreal games too [​IMG] ).

    What does one look for when searching DVI cables. Any specific codes? I know its a VGA into comp and a male DVI into the monitor. Beyond that I don't know what to tell a salesperson to get the correct cable.
     
  2. Josh_SR

    Josh_SR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sup peeps...

    its hard to find a store that knows what dvi is.... i have had this same problem and ended up looking on ebay for one... i found many.... look for the dual link D-dvi cables.. if you have it on your pc then i beleave it should be male to male connections witch mean there are pins on both ends of the dvi cable..... good luck
     
  3. Gabriel_Lam

    Gabriel_Lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    With a 5 meter cable, you want to make sure you get a pretty good quality one. That's right at the limits of copper. You're going to be using 1280x720?
     
  4. dan fritzen

    dan fritzen Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got one at Best Buy for $70 but I see them on pricewatch.com for as little at $43. Look for a digital monitor cable on pricewatch, it will work, that is what I bought at best Buy. But alas my NVidia Geforce 4 would not recognize the TV beyond 480x848 resolution so it was worthless to me.
     
  5. Josh_SR

    Josh_SR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    dan.... what gforce 4 do you have?
     
  6. Gabriel_Lam

    Gabriel_Lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. Daniel T.

    Daniel T. Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Geforce card? 4200 of some ilk. Bought it so long ago...wait, lemme look in system properties NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200, is what Belarc spit out. I hooked it up for a quick while the other day(moving my comp is an ORDEAL) using a friends flat panel cable. I didn't play with resolution of much of anything, just to get a gander at the pic.

    Don't rightly know what resolution I'll use, I guess its a play-it-by-eye kinda thing with the "HD" dvd's. Thats mainly why I want a long one, so I can piddle and not lug this tower around.
     
  8. dan fritzen

    dan fritzen Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page