Dish 6000 OS?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Danny R, Nov 20, 2001.

  1. Danny R

    Danny R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 23, 2000
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    0
    What OS does the Dish 6000 receiver use? Is it OpenTV software and looks the same as the PVR501 and 301, or does it have a different interface.

    If different, can anyone post or point me to a screenshot of what the guide looks like?

    I'm thinking of buying one of these for christmas, but if its got a totally different look and feel for the interface I'll probably pass. (I'd wait for the 921, but who knows how long that might take now)
     
  2. DanP

    DanP Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 6000 doesnt use OpenTv. Originally it was said that they were going to be upgraded to OpenTv via a software download (as they're currently doing with the 3800's and 4700's) but they later changed their minds and now say it wont ever be. Thus it is a very bone basic and primitive looking interface.

    That said, for me personally, I couldnt care less about the interface. I tend to watch the programming and not the menu system. And it's not like I'm biased because I also have a DirecTv HD receiver with the Advanced Program Guide and it blows away the 6000's. But again, so what?

    Not sure where you can get a screen shot of a 6000.
     
  3. Chip_Slattery

    Chip_Slattery Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Danny R,
    Some screen shots of the 6000 menu and guide are below. These were taken under less than ideal conditions with a cheap digital camera, but you'll get the idea. I agree with everything DanP says about the guide being primitive but functional. Given how good the HD picture is I don't spend much time looking at the guide either...[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page