DirecTV and network HDTV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Trent_N, Feb 6, 2003.

  1. Trent_N

    Trent_N Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some of you that have DirectTV's HDTV receiver, how do you also receive network HDTV programming? What kind of setup do you have? Does the DirecTV receiver also receive network HDTV programming or do you have to have a separate receiver? If you have 2 different receivers, how do you switch context between them? Do you just purchase some mega receiver with 3 component inputs (for DVD, DirecTV, and network HDTV)?
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    All DirecTV HD receiver will also decode OTA digital signals. That is the ONLY way to get network HD programming with DirecTV. Go to Antennaweb to see what is available in your area.

    -Robert
     
  3. Rick_Ster

    Rick_Ster Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does the HD dish (triple lnb) pick up ota hdtv signals? How do you program the receiver to tune to these channels? The cust service guy at directv told me that local channels would "automatically" be picked up by directv in HDTV and that's not true - all the local channels I'm getting over directv are all non-hdtv signals. I can get the HDTV signals with a separate antenna and receiver, but I thought I could also get them through my dish and dss receiver? btw, I have the hughes e86 receiver.

    Thanks for any input you have on this.
     
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
     

Share This Page