What's new

Did I buy the wrong version? (1 Viewer)

Meaux

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Meaux
I just bought Red Dragon Widescreen. When I got home and read the back, it says, 2.35:1.
I have a toshiba 50H81 TV. Should I have gotten the regular version? I really don't want to see bars on the screen.

I'm new at this stuff, I just don't know. I thought if I have a 16:1 TV, I should buy a "widescreen" version. I notice it dosen't say DTS on it either. I thought all new movies would be DTS.

Thanks

Joel C

Screenwriter
It's a complicated answer, actually. 16X9 TVs will still show black bars on some widescreen releases, because there are many widescreen ratios. The most common, 1.85:1, will more of less fill a 16x9 TV. But Red Dragon is 2.35:1, which means you will still have thin black bars on the top and bottom. They take up much less screen space than the bars on a 2.35:1 film on a square TV.

As for the "right" version, yes, you got the right on. You will see the film as originally intended, albeit with the bars. There is no way to NOT have bars, in fact, since buying the P&S version means you will have a square of picture in the middle and big grey bars on the sides.

The bars go away once the movie starts, just don't look at them!

JoshB

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Joshua Bal
DTS does not make the movie. I can see where this debate will be going.....................

Meaux

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Meaux
It' no joke Joey, I am that ignorant.

I forgot to mention that I'm also using a Toshiba SD4800, If I have the right DVD, I guess it dosen't matter.

Thanks

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So
You got the right DVD.. the bars are supposed to be there... The movie is wider than your TV, so its gotta letterbox it... its normal..

DTS is a sound format, like dolby digital. DTS is featured on some DVD's not all.

clayton b

Stunt Coordinator