What's new

designing my new home theatre system (1 Viewer)

vasuvius

Auditioning
Real Name
vasu
Hi,

I'm new to home theater and am designing my first system. This will be placed in my basement which is roughly 13' x 16' and panelled in hard wood with a sheet rock ceiling.

I've already purchased a new TV for the room and have a Blu-Ray player as well. I'm currently working on deciding which receiver and speakers to buy.

Equipment I have so far:

TV - Panasonic TC-P50GT25 (50" Plasma 3D ready TV)

Blu-Ray Player -- Panasonic (can't recall model no. - around 3 years old now)

What I'm considering:

Receiver - Onkyo TX-NR808

Speakers - Mirage MX 5.1

Amazon currently has a good price on the Onkyo 808. There doesnt seem to be a lot of stock out there on the Mirage speakers.

The selection so far has been based on on-line reviews, forums, and the look and size of the speakers.

In addition to the HT room, I'd like to put 2 wireless stereo speakers in my living room and run off the same receiver.

Questions I have:

1. Are these speakers a good choice? What other brand/model should I consider? I'm looking to spend around $1000 (+/- 20%) on the speaker set including sub-woofer.

2. The Onkyo 808 has multi-room support. Will it support wireless speakers?

3. Given the size of the room I'm planning on using 16 gauge wire. Should I consider 14 or 12?

4. Do I need any special wiring for the Sub-woofer ?I'm getting an electrician to do the wiring in the ceiling and behind the walls and need to buy the wiring within a week.

All thoughts, advise, suggestions welcome.

Thanks

Vasu

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
1. Do the speakers sound good to you? How does the sub perform? We sometimes (a lot) recommend a 5.0 system and a sub from a separate company. There are very few speaker companies that make great subs. There are some great sub makers that now make great speakers.