What's new

Denon 5600 (1 Viewer)

matthew_rm

Second Unit
Real Name
Real name
Im a high school student with out lots of money. I bought a used Denon 5600. I need to know if I should keep it.
I don't have it in my home yet.
---
How will it compair to the HK520, or Denon 2802? I know it has only 5.1 DD and DTS, but that's fine. (It's for the Bedroom.) How will it sound with my Klipsch? Are there any problems with this unit?
Thanks for any replies:)

Jerry Klawiter

Screenwriter
Not all AVR-5600's came with dts.
Only a few late in the production run for the last few months. Then the AVR 5700 came out.
AVR-5600dts
I had one of the 5600dts units, Very nice,
But they DO NOT have a dts led that shows you are using a dts source. The real & only way to know if your 5600 has dts is look on the back for a small label that say's dts, Or pop the hood and look for the very small upgrade board in the front near the top, One chip on the board says dts.
If you find the tag or board, just leave the 5600 on AC3.
Any dts fed into will decode.
The 5600 does not have 5.1 or 7.1 inputs like the 5700.
Here is a nice link to the 5600.
http://www.wire-x.com/5600.htm
The 5600 is a very fine unit.
I only sold my 5600dts to upgrade to the 5700.
I still have it even though I also use separates in our main system.
The specifications on the Denon flagship's are great!
As well the build and sound quality.
I sent you a PM with the spec's like a true
Stereo - 2 ch DriveFront140 W x 2 ch (8 ohms, 20Hz - 20 kHz, THD 0.05%)170 W x 2 ch (8 ohms, 1 kHz, THD 0.7%)
Stereo - 5 ch Drive140 W x 5 ch (8 ohms, 1kHz, THD 0.7%)
Enjoy it.

matthew_rm

Second Unit
Real Name
Real name
I think it say's DTS on the front. So that means it has DTS. Right?

So it doesn't have 5.1 or 7.1 input? But it does have 5.1 d.input right? (PS2, Xbox, DVD,)

Jerry Klawiter

Screenwriter
If it say's dts on the front, then it may have it.
My 5600 did not have a tag on the front.