What's new

denon 3802 vs. 4802 (1 Viewer)

Patrick_T

Agent
With the 4802 going a little more than double the price of the 3802 is it really worth it? What does the price of the 4802 get you? I am in no need of the 4802 THX processing (just the THX like crossover frequency and slope). For the money it seems like it would be better to go with the 3802 and external amplification. Anyone have the 4802 and think it is worth it over the 3802?

Phil Wyeth

Grip
I’m faced with the same dilemma Pat. I’m not an expert with hometheater, so the following is my rationalization to go with the 3802.
With the 4802 you get the fancy Atkis remote so right off the bat there is #300 or so jump.
I have heard more bad than good about the remote
Alpha 24 (AL 24) processing -- A quote from Denon:
“The AVR-4802 includes Denon's renowned 24-bit ALPHA processing
technology that reproduces digital signals in a waveform with the
smoothness of analog signals. This technology thoroughly suppresses
annoying quantization distortion and faithfully reproduces the delicate
musical details of low-level signals. AL 24 processing works in 2-channel
Stereo, Direct, Pure Direct modes.”
In a nut shell, if your into turning off the surround and listening to pure stereo music…..this feature may be kinda nice -- Personnally I don’t see myself doing this that often
Bit more power -- 100 vs 125 really gonna matter
THX Cert, as you already pointed out --- Over rated feature IMHO
96/24 playback -- A quote from Denon::
24-bit Analog To Digital Conversion
High-quality 96-kHz, 24-bit (96/24) sound playback from ordinary
DVD-Video recordings is limited to only two channels and there are
also limitations on the picture. DVD-Video recorded in DTS 96/24,
however, allows high-quality 5.1-channel sound playback in full-quality,
full-motion video. DTS 96/24 lets you enjoy both digital output and video
output from your existing DVD player. Denon's AVR-4802 A/V receiver is