DBS Transponder Question..

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Marv, Jul 7, 2002.

  1. Marv

    Marv Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2000
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a single LNB RCA DBS dish. I'm having problems getting all the transpoders when I'm in the dish setup signal strength menu. Out of the 32 transponders I have uper 90's strength on 11 of them and uper 80's on 1 them and 0 on the rest of them. I no longer get many of the channels I have programing for and the blank channels tell me to move the dish 3 degrees. I noticed this problem a couple days after a storm went thru so I assumed the wind had moved the dish slightly. I have realigned it with no luck. So I'm thinking it's the LNB or the receiver. Any one out there ever had a problem like this?

    -Marv
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,310
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    It could be the LNB but it's probably an F-connector. If it happened right after a rain, water could have leaked into the connection causing a short. Start at the dish unscrewing each connection and check for stray strands of shielding touching the center conductor. If they are wet, let them dry out. For outside connections I use F-connectors with O-rings built in.

    -Robert
     
  3. Julio

    Julio Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in the dish menu do you have it for round dish not oval
     

Share This Page