1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

DBS Transponder Question..

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Marv, Jul 7, 2002.

  1. Marv

    Marv Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2000
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a single LNB RCA DBS dish. I'm having problems getting all the transpoders when I'm in the dish setup signal strength menu. Out of the 32 transponders I have uper 90's strength on 11 of them and uper 80's on 1 them and 0 on the rest of them. I no longer get many of the channels I have programing for and the blank channels tell me to move the dish 3 degrees. I noticed this problem a couple days after a storm went thru so I assumed the wind had moved the dish slightly. I have realigned it with no luck. So I'm thinking it's the LNB or the receiver. Any one out there ever had a problem like this?

    -Marv
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,333
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    It could be the LNB but it's probably an F-connector. If it happened right after a rain, water could have leaked into the connection causing a short. Start at the dish unscrewing each connection and check for stray strands of shielding touching the center conductor. If they are wet, let them dry out. For outside connections I use F-connectors with O-rings built in.

    -Robert
     
  3. Julio

    Julio Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in the dish menu do you have it for round dish not oval
     

Share This Page