Connecting a DVD's RCA to a Coax-Only Television: HELP!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark Walker, Sep 23, 2002.

  1. Mark Walker

    Mark Walker Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    757
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    I am donating my old HT system to a dear friend who
    is still saddled with a older television that only
    has one coaxial cable input on the back, and no
    RCA inputs, much less s-video or anything else.
    So, here is the delemma: I would like to give her my
    DVD player, and I am also giving her my old pro-logic
    receiver and speakers, so she can at least HEAR films
    while completely avoiding the need to hook up the sound
    to her television.
    But, how do I hook up the video signal to her television?
    I have looked for a
    "RCA-video connect to a coaxial" adapter
    and had no luck. If there were one for s-video, oviously
    that would work too.
    Any advice, suggestions or other help?
    (Other than stating,
    "Tell her to buy a television from this decade!"
    She is your typical "poor, college student.")
    Mark
     
  2. Bill_Weinreich

    Bill_Weinreich Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mark,

    The best thing to do would be to pick up an RF modulator from The Shack. It converts the Audio/video signal to an RF signal that will display on the TV. Not the best way to watch a DVD, but its better than not. You could try running the signal through a VCR but the copywright protection may make the video signal unusable.


    Bill
     
  3. Mark Walker

    Mark Walker Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    757
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Bill-

    Thanks! I had not even thought of that whole
    "run through a VCR" thing. Yep, that will work
    until it unwittingly triggers Macrovision,
    (even when the VCR is not recording)
    which I know
    (from another friend suffering under
    the similar conditions) is about 30% of the time.

    Mark
     
  4. Lee Petty

    Lee Petty Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    walmart has philips switchbox modulators.
    i believe they let you hook up to 4 devices up (even s-vid connections) and has a built in modulator. i think it sold for $35.
     
  5. Justin Lane

    Justin Lane Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As already said go the RF modulator route. They are about 30 bucks at Radio Shack and Best Buy. From experience I would have to say the Radio Shack unit is very nicely built and performed better then the unit Best Buy sells. Since she is getting a Pro-Logic system as well, I would also recommend just attaching the video to the modulator and bypass the audio which could be an annoyance coming from her televsion speakers since almost assuredly they cannot be turned off.

    J
     

Share This Page