What's new

Component Video with projector (1 Viewer)

Falcor

Auditioning
Real Name
Ryan Presley
I'm pretty new to owning a HT, but the way my projector is connected to my receiver, is through an S Video cable. As I understand it, I cannot plug in other devices (such as a DVD player) into the receiver using anything other than S-Video since thats how the projector is plugged in.

Is there any way around this? I'd LIKE to plug my projector into the receiver using component video cables, but still be able to use S-video for some of the other equipment so I can avoid having to buy a Component Video switch, to plug everything else into. It seemed logical to me since S-Video is inferior to Component but.. I dont really know much about it.

Any info appreciated :)

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
Do both your receiver and your projector possess component video inputs?

If so it is very easy to add component video to the projector alongside (cables parallelling) S-video. Then you can connect the DVD player to the receiver using component cables.

You would have to choose, say, Video 1 on the projector remote for S-video and Video 2 for component video sources (and Video 3 on the projector remote for composite sources if any). The most up to date receivers "upconvert" S-video inputs and cross feed them to the component outputs eliminating the manual selection with the projector remote but you don't have to upgrade to this tomorrow.

You don't need switch boxes just because some inputs are component and other inputs are composite.

Another alternative is to plug the DVD player directly into the projector using its component cables.

Video hints:
http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm

Falcor

Auditioning
Real Name
Ryan Presley
Ahh right, thanks Allan that cleared up a great deal. I wasnt even thinking of running both, then switching video modes like that. I think thats how I'll do it.