What's new

Center Channel Selection (1 Viewer)

Chad_R

Auditioning
Hello all,
I bought a HT in a box type deal and all of the sattelites are exactly the same speaker. I want a little more diversity out of my center channel, so I figured I could just upgrade that 1 speaker and then it would fit my needs.
My question(s):
Is it a good idea to stay with the same brand of speaker as the rest of them? (I've read yes, but wanted a wider audience's opinion)
If the above is yes, can anyone reccomend a good center channel from Sony?
If no, can anyone reccomend a good one in general? I'm not looking to spend more than 150 dollars on one. I know that's a pretty limited selection, but I've seen one from Polk (PLK CS175IBLACK) for 149. It handles up to 100 watts and that's exactly what my receiver is rated per channel. I've also seen one from Pioneer (PIO SH052CK) that appears to have about the same specs and would fit my needs.
I am pretty new at the HT stuff and funds are limited at the current time, but I would like a little more oomph out of my system.
Thanks to all who reply!
Chad

Jay Mitchosky

Senior HTF Member
If no, can anyone reccomend a good one in general?
B&W, Paradigm, Infinity, NHT, Atlantic, M&K, Mirage, PSB, Energy are a few names that pop here on a regular basis. Most of the well-regarded manufacturers will have a CC to suit your needs.
------------------
--Jay
"No one can hear when you're screaming in digital."
My Home Theatre Pictures...
"You're no messiah. You're, you're a movie of the week. You're a ... t-shirt, at best."

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Unfortunately, with an HT in a box, you are not likely to find a replacement or matching speakers to do an upgrade like what you are considering. Ideally, you want the speakers to match sonically, which is why most serious manufacturers have a center that is timbre matched to their mains & surrounds.