CD recording problem

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Don Peskin, Mar 16, 2003.

  1. Don Peskin

    Don Peskin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a Gateway computer with a comination CDr/rw - DVDrom drive. I bought a small pack of TDK data CDRs to test the drive. I've copied 6 of my CDs, so I could keep them at work. All play fine on my computer drive but when I tried to play them in my cd player I ran into problems. 3 played fine, 1 wouldn't play at all, and 2 would play but had an anoying scratchy sound. What's going on?
     
  2. John Watson

    John Watson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    0
    I take it you're not new to CD burning, but perhaps this site may have tips.

    http://www.cdrfaq.org/

    Actually I think this subject may have come up here in the last 6 months, the difficulty some people have with CD - RW data disks (is that what you used?) not playing on normal cd players at home or in cars?

    Perhaps a search here at HTF may turn up some of those discussions.
     
  3. MarkHastings

    MarkHastings Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    12,013
    Likes Received:
    1
     
  4. Paul Bartlet

    Paul Bartlet Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. MarkHastings

    MarkHastings Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    12,013
    Likes Received:
    1
     
  6. Paul Bartlet

    Paul Bartlet Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2000
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    My bad, TOC is written when u finalize CD. I was sure you couldn't multi session with audio cd, but you can :b
     
  7. Don Peskin

    Don Peskin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the responses.
    I was using TDK CD-R discs whose max is 16 times. The first cd I burned I didn't know to set the speed so the computer did it faster than the disc was supposed to handle - it played fine. On the second disc when I set the software to 16x - it crackled. The speed of recording isn't making any difference.
    I used the disc copy feature which automatically finalizes the cd so that's not a problem. On a couple of copies it started out ok and after a song or two the crackling began.
    Just for the record, I am brand new to this.
     
  8. Kevin P

    Kevin P Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try a different brand of CD-R, your mileage may vary depending on your CD player and brand of CD-R used.

    I've had good luck with Sony, Imation, Fuji and Verbatim discs. I've had not so good luck with some no-name cheapo brands (though I would expect TDK would be ok).

    KJP
     
  9. MarkHastings

    MarkHastings Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    12,013
    Likes Received:
    1
     
  10. Luis Esp

    Luis Esp Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2001
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just tried a few cdrs by SmartBuy, and though it states 16x, I've had to use a 4x to not get any coasters. I have'nt had any problems recording up to 24x with other cdrs, mainly Fuji, TDK and Maxell.

    I've also had to burn at slower speed with the black coloured cdrs, even though they also recorded at 16x.
     
  11. Ken Seeber

    Ken Seeber Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 1999
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    2
    What software are you using?
     
  12. Don Peskin

    Don Peskin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    roxio easy cd creator came with the pc
     
  13. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    as alread clarified, toc is written at the end. otherwise howz it gonna know what on the cd? [​IMG]

    all the good points are already covered.

    1. copy at slower speed (probable cause)
    2. copy files to hd first (speeds up copying anyway)
    3. change media (iffy...)

    i don't remember for sure, but i think easy cd creator has some sort of option where you can "analyze" your drive. you pop in both audio and data cd's and it will do whatever the heck it does and give you a recommended setting.

    since you have a new pc, i'm sure it's up to snuff performance wise.
     
  14. MarkHastings

    MarkHastings Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    12,013
    Likes Received:
    1
    You might want to be certain that the current version of CD burning software is compatible with your system.

    i.e. Easy CD Creator needs the latest version to work with Win XP.

    Don, what version of windows are you running? and what is the version of your CD creator software?

    The latest is 5.3.4. If the software came with the computer then it's most likely the "Basic" or "Starter Kit" which can be ugraded from the link at the bottom of this page:
    http://www.roxio.com/en/support/ecdc...pdatesv5.jhtml
     
  15. Don Peskin

    Don Peskin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this sounds like a dumb question but how do I find out what versions I have?
     
  16. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    go to help / about easy cd creator. it will tell you there.
     
  17. Don Peskin

    Don Peskin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks. I just checked and I do have an older version. You would think a new computer would come with the latest versions of software, guess not.
     
  18. Ted Lee

    Ted Lee Lead Actor

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    8,390
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  19. Don Peskin

    Don Peskin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I downloaded the updated softwar from the Roxio site. It was easier than I thought but took just over 45 minutes as the data rate was under 4kb even though I have a 56kb modum. Now I just have to find the time to try again.
     

Share This Page