What's new

Cables - Which? (1 Viewer)

Brad-F

Stunt Coordinator
Hi there.

I am very new to the home theater world so forgive my very basic questions.

I am in the process of building a new house. Work starts on it in about a months time. Part of my plan is to have a home theater room with a projector, a big screen and great surround sound.

At this point, I have no idea what projector to get. Don't worry, that is not my question. (but it will be at some point, once I have done some homework on the matter) :)

My plan is to mount the projector on some bracket from the roof, at an appropriate (but as yet undetermined) distance from the screen, somewhere in the middle of the room. This is where my problem starts.

Because the house is two levels, and the home theater room is going to be downstairs, I need to get them to put in the cabling for the projector and speakers before they finish the walls and roof. Else it will be impossible to put them in later.

My question then is this. What sort of cables do I need to get them to put in for the projector? This might be a difficult question to answer as I don't even have the projector yet but then again it might not. My current DVD player (most likely to one I'll be using to start with) has a Red, Green, Blue cable. Is this the type of cable I need to use?

Do the projectors all have the same cable requirements?
Are some cable types better than other? (and should this influence my search for the projector in a couple months time? Should I just get one that has inputs for the Red, Green, Blue cable I mentioned above?)
How long can the cables be before it effects the quality of the image?

I would be very thankful for any help in this matter.

Thanks in advance.

Brad-F

Vince Maskeeper

Senior HTF Member
Tough question.

Realize that right now the standard for dvd is Component cable (the Red, Green Blue cable you mentioned). Some/many projectors accept this type of input-- but not all.