What's new

Buying new PC.... New Video Card Will Work??... (1 Viewer)

Christopher Chung

Stunt Coordinator
Hey guys,

Okay, I'm just a novice at the whole computer thing. I tried doing my Homework at the whole "build your own PC" but didn't want to dive in just yet. So I decided on buying the Sony VIAO RX741.

This has 2 available PCI slots for me to use, and I plan to put a new Video Card, and Sound Card in them.

Now for my question: Will I be able to "override" the interrgrated video card the computer comes with a new higher-end video card, or am I stuck with the video card Sony gives me.

I'm guessing I can put in the vid/sound cards in since they are giving me 2 PCI slots, but I just want to make sure.

Thanks for any help!!
Chris

Dave E H

Supporting Actor
You probably can, but are going to really limited on what you can use for a video card - most top end video cards now only come in an AGP version.

What _IS_ the best PCI card now days? A Geforce2 MX PCI is about the best I know of...

Joe Hsu

Supporting Actor
There are GeForce 4 MX's in PCI format, I believe, and depending on the trade-off, he can try using a PCI to AGP riser card.
Now Chris, as for "overriding" the onboard video, you probably can, but there are often times of freeing up the memory...make sure you try whatever you can in Windows, but don't forget to look through the BIOS. A lot of times, onboard video has the memory size-allocation dictated in the BIOS (8 megs, 16, 32, 64), but for a lot of new chipsets, people are having difficulty successfully freeing up that memory.
Good luck. :)

Kelley_B

Senior HTF Member
man do not buy a Sony PC...they are very integrated, go with a nice Dell machine like the Dimension 4500 line.

I recently looked at the specs for the sony computer your are planning to buy.
http://www.sonystyle.com/vaio/popup/specs_rx741.pdf
and from what i can tell you, if you are going to buy a sony computer that you look into getting a different model.