What's new

Building a HTPC, but a few concerns.... (1 Viewer)

Hello all. I am currently in the process of upgrading my gaming rig and using the old parts for a decent HTPC. The specs of it are/will be:

ASUS A8N-SLI
Athlon XP 3500+
2GB Corsair XMS Memory
1x 36GB Raptor HD (for OS)
3x 150GB Raptor X HD (for shows, music, videos, games, etc....)
BFG Tech GeForce 7800GTXOC w/ 256MB DDR
Wireless Logitech Mouse/Keyboard (Bluetooth/Laser)
Sony 16x DVD-ROM
Sony 8X DVD-RW
Windows XP MCE with remote

This rig will not be playing any DVD's. Just TV shows/music/music videos from the net and such.

I have a few questions about setting up a HTPC. Now, I work in the Home Theater field, but I've never had to set up a HTPC for any customers. My first concern is, audio. I want something with SPDIF (COAX) outputs. My motherboard has it onboard so I guess that would serve well enough.

My second concern is the video. I currently have my 17" Dell MCE laptop hooked up to my TV using DCI-HDMI and I don't like the way it looks. The TV is a SONY KDF-E55A20. The max resolution of the set is 1368x768. How can I make the video/text look the best through the HDMI connection? I noticed on the laptop that games like wow and surfing the net... the text appears all blocky and unable to be read clearly.

If anyone wants to help me with my issues with the video, you can IM me on AIM: sonyxplodjetta or just email me: [email protected]. I want to get this issue fixed prior to building the HTPC.

Please let me know if any of y'all can help me with it. I would love to get this up and going within the next month or so. Thanks in advance.

Rommel_L

Second Unit
for the audio question: Onboard audio may support SPDIF but the quality isn't guaranteed to be good. A separate audio card with digital audio out will be in oreder here, as other members will chime in as they read this post.

for the video question: A few questios first:
- What are the resolutions supported by your TV?