It's about to begin... ideas/suggestions?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Tony Loewen, Apr 10, 2004.

1. Tony Loewen

Tony Loewen Stunt Coordinator

Hey everyone,

I went down to our new house yesterday and took a few measurements and made up a little sketch. I was wondering if I could get some input from some of you guys out there with a little more experience as this is my first project like this. Here's what I have to work with:

[​IMG]

Part of the bar is already there, but I want to extend it and put an "L" into it. I am putting in a couple of beer taps with lines going into a fridge in the adjoining room. The speakers are just there for placement, nothing is there yet. Would I benefit from closing off the bar from the theater (ie accoustics and stuff) and how would I do this? Could I use a good, heavy curtain? Also, I plan on having the stage both for sub placement and in case the band ever wants to set up and jam out a couple of tunes.

Another question, what would be a good starting point for a budget? I have a Sony catalog I was using for pricing, just sort of a base plan: 150W x 7 ES Home Theatre Receiver (STR-DA3000ES) $1699.99 cdn, M-series speakers (3-way floor 200W SS-MF750H for the fronts $479.99/pr, 2-way bookshelf 120W SS-MB250H for the center surrounds $179.99/pr, 3-way floor 150W SS-MF550H for rear surrounds $299.99/pr, 250W RMS dual 10" subwoofer SA-WX700 $599.99, 150W Center Channel SS-CN550H for center $149.99). My plan is to use a ceiling mount projector along the lines of a X1 or something, and then run the system off of my already-in-the-process-of-building HTPC. I had kinda told my wife it would likely be in the $12K range by the time decorating and furniture had been finished, is this about right? What have some other projects similar to this set-up run as far as final price is concerned?